Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Ingrid Andrews
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kate Korroch
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

Gaylord Area Council for the Arts – CALL FOR MURALIST(S)

Gaylord Area Council for the Arts invites all Michigan artists/muralists to submit a proposal for the Art in the Alley mural project for spring/summer 2024 installation. Application Deadline: February 29, 2024.

Gaylord Area Council for the Arts is seeking submissions for professional muralist(s) to design and install a mural of original work that will cover an area of approximately 250sqft as part of the Art in the Alley Project. Art in the Alley is a community collaboration that involves working with the property/business owner(s), City of Gaylord, Downtown Development Authority, and Downtown Merchants Association, and community members. We seek to transform a 3-block blighted alleyway into a vibrant Arts and Culture gather place. We believe that art can be transformative and the impact of community murals has value way beyond the art on the walls to share our message on the importance of community in Otsego County.

Art in the Alley Overarching Theme: The proposed mural design should align with the theme of “Celebrating Community” through an Otsego County historical, environmental, and/or cultural lens(es).
Property/Business Owner’s Vision: Open to the artists interpretation of the above theme, however, would like a magazine cover art style that was popular in earlier decades up to and around the 1970’s. Think “vintage Field and Stream” magazine. For more details on this particular artistic style and the artists known for such an approach, please visit the American Museum of Fly fishing


Applicants should provide a completed application following the guidelines set forth in the Call to Artist  no later than February 29, 2024 by 11:59pm. that includes:

  • Application form fully complete. 
  • Up to three concept renderings of their mural idea(s).
  • A minimum of two examples of past murals.  If first time mural, past commissioned work. 
  • Two professional references.

Please note, any missing information will automatically disqualify an application. 

For more information and to apply click here.

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!