Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

National Writers Series

National Writers Series: Front Street Writers Classes Available

Start Date: September 18, 2021

End Date: November 14, 2021

We’re Looking for a Few Good Student Writers

The National Writers Series is best known for bringing hundreds of A-list literary talents to Traverse City for over a decade, but not everyone knows that one of the main reasons we host our year-round book festival is so we can support young writers right here in our community. Our Raising Writers programs help students in 4th-12th grade express themselves, explore the world through reading, develop their imaginations, and think critically.

Our Raising Writers programs come in all shapes and sizes, including four annual college scholarships and the popular Battle of the Books trivia contest. At the heart of this programming is Front Street Writers, an acclaimed writing program developed from a grassroots campaign of dedicated volunteers, teachers, donors, and Michigan authors.

What’s New for Raising Writers

Today, we’re thrilled to announce a new iteration of Front Street Writers. This year, we’re offering three ways to get involved with creative writing for middle school and high school students.

The best part about this program? We’re offering free enrollment in all of these classes. We believe creative expression should be accessible to all of the students we serve in the five-county northern Michigan region (Grand Traverse, Antrim, Benzie, Kalkaska, and Leelanau counties).

Our Fall Offerings
• Creative Writing Intensive (fall semester)
• College Essay Writing Workshop (9/18/21)
• Masterclass with Mary Roach (9/20/21)
• Screenwriting Workshop (10/2/21 and 10/9/21)
• Playwriting Workshop (11/13/21 and 11/14/21)

Stay tuned for more—a Poetry Workshop from Ari Mokdad and an Author Masterclass from Angeline Boulley will be added soon!

If you know a student writer, please share these classes with them and encourage them to apply. Space is limited for these classes and applications for the Creative Writing Intensive are due on September 15th.

PO Box 5833
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!