Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage


High school authors, poets, essayists, Journalist Scholarships

High school authors, poets, essayists, and journalists: Scholarships are waiting for you!
Click here for more scholarship submission details!
The National Writers Series, in partnership with the Grand Traverse Regional Community Foundation, is on the hunt for this year’s best writing from student authors in the Grand Traverse area.
Even better: we’re rewarding that wonderful writing with four $1,000 scholarships.
If you know an 11th or 12th grader that’s passionate about writing, it’s time to put pen to paper! We’re looking for students to submit a poem, short story, essay, or piece of journalism. To date, $52,000 has been awarded to 34 students.
Maybe your student writer is next?
Submissions will be accepted through March 1 at the Grand Traverse Regional Community Foundation website.
Eligible writers must have a permanent address in Antrim, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, or Leelanau counties and be an 11th- or 12th-grader during the 2020/21 school year. We’ve named our scholarships in honor of the late Bill Montgomery (fiction); Bob and Marcy Branski (poetry), Leslie Lee (nonfiction), and the late Judith Lang (journalism). 
Scholarship winners will also get one more feather in their cap — all winning pieces will be showcased in the 2021 NWS Literary Journal, making them published writers before their first day of college.
Click here for more scholarship submission details!

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!