Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Ingrid Andrews
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kate Korroch
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

Call for Art: Rock Paper Scissors Scrap at JRAC

From Jordan River Arts Council:

Rock Paper Scissors (aka Rochambeau or roshambo) is a hand game used as a fair way to decide the outcome of a dispute or question. Rock smashes scissors, scissors cut paper, paper covers rock. Played in the traditional way it is a simultaneous, zero-sum game, winner take all.

For this show we’ve expanded the elements of the game to: Rock Paper Scissors Scrap.

A scrap is a small piece or amount of something, especially one that is left over after the greater part of the thing has been used. Some think scraps are trash, and some find new life for the small bits.

Any way you want to think about it, we offer Rock Paper Scissors Scrap as a prompt for you to interpret as you will. Start with the game, or the materials. Consider one or two of these materials or all of them together. Celebrate one of these things for its own qualities. Make up rules to the new permutation of the game. Sculpt, paint, dye, print, draw, weave, collage, set stones, cartoon…the possibilities are endless!

Entry is free for Jordan River Arts Council members.

A fee of $15.00 is payable by non-members. These fees help to support various programs at JRAC.  JRAC commission agreement is 70% to artist and 30% to JRAC.

All work must be original and not from a kit. Work must be gallery ready, finished, dry and include approved installation devices. Please use gallery wire. No saw tooth hanging hardware please. JRAC reserves the right to exclude work due to installation or other considerations.

All work must be labeled to include; title, artist name, medium, size and price.

Dates and Deadlines

  • Sunday February 13 – Indicate intent to participate, via email to shannagrobinson@gmail.com
  • Wednesday March 2 – deliver work to JRAC, 1 – 4 or by appointment
  • Sunday March 6 – Opening reception – pending public health guidelines
  • Friday March 25 – show closes
  • Saturday March 26 – Pick up work 1 – 4

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!