Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Jim Young
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

Molly Jane Sturges

Molly Jane Sturges is a northern Michigan composer, performer, artistic director, wellness leadership advocate and facilitator. She has worked around the globe with individuals, organizations, and communities at the intersection of music, community organizing, healing, spirituality and education for over twenty-eight years.  She is currently a senior fellow and consulting faculty with The Center for Excellence in Public Leadership at George Washington University.

Molly was the Founding Artistic Director/Co-founder of Lifesongs with The Santa Fe Opera (an intergenerational program between hospice participants, senior care residents, musicians, health care providers and youth), Founding Artistic Director of Littleglobe, a diverse arts-in-community artist led non-profit based in New Mexico (www.littleglobe.org) and creator of a wide range of social healing music projects.

A United States Artist Fellow in music Molly teaches workshops, master classes and does public speaking on a range of topics including; music & social healing, music and life transitions, creative leadership and facilitation,  participatory story-making, arts & climate justice, the power of the social imagination, and  intuitive literacy.  She spent nine years on her participatory musical, activism and climate justice project, Firerock and was a professor in Arts & Ecology at The University of New Mexico for five years.

In 2019-2020 Molly was the William Corcoran Visiting Professor/Artist at The Corcoran School of Art and Design/GWU.  Her current project Waking The Oracle is a national participatory, intersectional and immersive learning musical mediation for the planet.

Molly is a recording artist, musical activist and researcher, and has led a range of creative music ensembles and projects.  She specializes in creating and leading community-sourced improvised musical healing activations integrating improvisation, composition and social healing story-making.

Molly earned a Master of Arts in music composition from Wesleyan University and is a lifelong practitioner of contemplative practice.  She teaches meditation and well-being practices as part of all of her work and is a devoted facilitator and forever student  of accountable somatic based justice, diversity, equity and inclusion work.

Molly is based in Northern Michigan and Northern New Mexico. Learn more about Molly at www.mollysturges.com.

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!