NW MI Arts & Culture Network

JoAnne Cook

JoAnne Cook is a member of the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa/Chippewa Indians and from Peshawbestown. She currently serves the Grand Traverse Band as chief Tribal Appellate Court judge, previously serving as a member of the Tribal Council and as a Tribal Court judge. She also also served a term as vice president of the Michigan Indian Judicial Association. Cook believes that tradition and culture are vital to the Anishinaabe way of life. As a judge, Cook incorporated that belief into the development of alternative courts that utilize tradition and culture to promote healing and restore balance. She consults with native and nonnative communities who are seeking to develop similar alternative court systems.

Cook also taught business law at Northwestern Michigan College and native law and culture for Northwestern Michigan College Extended Education. Cook earned a  bachelor’s degree in business administration from Ferris State University and Juris Doctor degree from the University of Wisconsin School of Law.

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!