Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

Call for Art: BACN

Benzie Area Christian Neighbors (BACN) has a Call for Art to be created in their new facility which is due to be completed in Fall 2022.  The mural will be created on a wall area in the main entrance corridor.

Project Overview:   The mural will incorporate a hand-carved, wooden replica of a Schwinn bicycle donated for artistic display by artist Kurt Swanson. The bike will be located in the top right corner of the wall and the mural should incorporate a path leading to the lower left corner. The overall space is 24’ x 10’ feet with the bike measuring 55 inches in length and 44 inches in height. Thanks to the Grand Traverse Regional Community Foundation, the selected artist will be awarded $2000 to cover supplies and a stipend.

Thematic:  Original artwork should be inspired by and creatively reflect the Benzie County area with a theme of “pathway to sustainability”. The color palette should be complimentary with the new building aesthetic, thereby excluding fluorescent and metallic hues.  Artwork that is inherently political, religious, or otherwise exclusive of any factor of social stratum shall be deemed inappropriate for this project.

Artist Eligibility:   Eligible artists must be 18 years or older and reside within the state of Michigan.  Artists submitting work for consideration will assure the following: the  artwork is solely the result of the artistic effort of the artist.  The artwork is original and does not infringe upon any copyright or the rights of any person, literature, illustration of books or publications.  The artwork must be free and clear of any liens from any source whatsoever.

 Application requirements and considerations:

  • Applications and rendering due no later than May 1, 2022
  • A letter of interest and a short bio should accompany the preliminary rendering.
  • The artwork will be selected by a panel, no later than June 1, 2022
  • The selected artwork must be completed by the official opening of the new building.
  • Send proposals to: info@benziebacn.org or proposals may be delivered in person to:   BACN, 2804 Benzie Highway, Benzonia             or delivered via USPS to: BACN, PO Box 93, Benzonia, MI 49616

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!