NW MI Arts & Culture Network


Network E-News, 4/22/21

Link to Summit Schedule & Registration

Join Us – Register Today!

Annual Summit Goes Virtual to Focus on Recovery, Resiliency & Rebuilding
Registration is underway for the Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Virtual Summit slated for Tuesday, May 4, 9:30-3pm. All sessions will be presented via Zoom.
Recovery, resiliency and reshaping are key themes in 2021 with  discussions, demos and hands-on tools and strategies as we strive to rebuild for a post-pandemic future.
  • Panel discussions will explore: “The Pandemic Pivot,” “Diversity & Inclusion,” and “Powering Art in the Public Square.”
  • Breakout sessions include:Evaluation 101,” “Diversity Deep Dive,” “Work of Art,” “Advocacy & Action,” “Tech Tips, Tools & Strategies,” and “Creative Collaboration.”
  • Speakers include more than 20 regional artists, arts and cultural leaders, community projects, and creative sector advocates, in addition to state leaders of Michigan Council for Arts & Cultural Affairs, Michigan Museums Association, Interlochen Center for the Arts and Artrain.
The full schedule and speakers are posted at https://nwmiarts.org/annual-summit/.

The summit is free for members, non-members can apply registration fee to a new membersihp. Scholarships are available. Remember, if you are an organizational member, anyone in your organizations is able to attend at no cost. For more information, contact arts@nwmiarts.net.

Link to Summit Schedule & Registration

MCACA Surveys Underway: COVID, Programs

Michigan Council for Arts & Cultural Affairs has two short surveys underway needing input. Link below.
OPEN: FY22 MCACA Grant & Minigrant applications open at mcaca.smartsimple.com

Region 2 Drop-in  Info/Minigrant Webinars: 5/10 & 5/13 @ 10am;
5/17 & 20 @ noon. Zoom link all sessions  
Questions, contact arts@nwmiarts.net 

MCACA Drop-In Staff Hours

MCACA program directors are available weekly to address upcoming FY22 grant guideline or SmartSimple questions. See schedule below. Link through Microsoft Teams or call 1 248-340-3787 (ID: 738 743 274#) 
  • Adam Wheater, SmartSimple/General, T/Th, 10-11 am
  • Ashley Minarik, General Inquiries/Payments, T/Th, 9-10 am
  • Chad Swan-Badgero, Arts in Ed, New Leaders, Project Support, T/Th, 11-12
  • Jackie Lillis-Warwick, Capital Improvements & Minigrants, T/W, 1-2pm 
  • Jeff Garrett, Operational Support, M/W, 9-10 am

SVOG Portal to Open 4/24

According to a 10pm, 4/22 posting by the SBA, its portal for Shuttered Venue Operator Grant access will open on Saturday, 4/24. Updated documents and guidance will be posted Friday, 4/23.   New registrations are still being accepted. Continue monitoring the SBA site. Also – there is an SVOG Act Now Facebook group that is sharing communications informally. 

Become A Blue Star Museum

Registration is now open for museums to sign up to be part of the 2021 Blue Star Museum program. The program begins on Armed Forces Day, Saturday, May 15, 2021 and ends on Labor Day, Monday, September 6, 2021. Info/Apply Here

Free MEDC Webinar 4/28 

Digital tools for artists, musicians, and the maker community to sell work internationally is the focus of a free MEDC webinar on April 28, 1-2pm, and will feature the US Commercial Service’s eCommerce Innovation Lab.  Information/registration.

Art-Train, ARP & New Training

Springboard for the Arts just launched Art-Train, a virtual technical assistance program for artists, municipal agencies, community non-profits, and arts councils in communities of all sizes. Art-Train is training on how to use American Rescue Plan and American Jobs Plan funding to support locally-rooted, culture-based collaborations for a creative and equitable recovery.  See more, including info sessions, training schedule, free artist track: www.art-train.org  (More info to come)

Impact 100 Opens 4/23

The Impact 100 grant application window opens 4/23 for nonprofits in the 5-county Grand Traverse region. Deadline is 5/21. Three grants of $110,000 each will be awarded. Arts & Culture is one of the organization’s five funding focuses.  More grant information here. Applicant training video available here.
Facebook Page Facebook Page
Facebook Group Facebook Group
Copyright © 2020, Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network, PO 1859, Traverse City, MI 49685

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

www.nwmiarts.org   arts@nwmiarts.net
The Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network receives support from the Michigan Council for Arts & Cultural Affairs & the National Endowment for the Arts.


This email was sent to *|EMAIL|*
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences


PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!