Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Ingrid Andrews
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kate Korroch
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

MCACA Announces FY22 Funding – Link to $ Lists

Michigan Council for Arts & Cultural Affairs awarded $684,178 in FY22 grants to 31 organizations and projects located in Northwest Michigan. Funding was approved at the October 22, 2021 Council meeting and includes awards for operational support, project support, capital improvements, arts in education and regional regrant for use October 1, 2021 – September 30, 2022. An additional 15 organizations will benefit from minigrants. Regional funding represents a 15% increase over FY2021.

MCACA provides grants to encourage, initiate and facilitate an enriched artistic, cultural and creative environment in Michigan. Funds are appropriated each year in the state budget. $10,739,823 in total FY22 funding was awarded throughout the state with funds benefitting 72 of Michigan’s 83 counties.

Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network administers the MCACA regrant program for Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee, Missaukee and Wexford counties, also known as “Region 2.”  Regrant funds are used for minigrants for local projects and professional development. 15 organizations will share $30,100 in fall minigrants while an additional $13,900 will be awarded later in the year for schools and Round 2 arts projects funding.

Regional recipients of MCACA grants by county include:

  • Antrim, $22,500: Crosshatch Center for Art & Design;
  • Benzie, $38,750:  Benzie Area Symphony Orchestra, Benzie Area Historical Society, Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts;
  • Charlevoix, $62,500:  Beaver Island Cultural Arts Association, Beaver Island Historical Society, Charlevoix Circle of Arts, Raven Hill Discovery Center;
  • Emmet, $149,433: Bay View Music Festival, Blissfest Music Organization, Crooked Tree Arts Center, Good Hart Artist Residency, Great Lakes Center for the Arts, Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra, Harbor Springs Festival of the Book, Voices Without Borders;
  • Grand Traverse, $295,695:  City Opera House Heritage Association, Interlochen Center for the Arts, Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network, Northwest Michigan Ballet Theatre, Northwestern Michigan College/Dennos Museum Center, Old Town Playhouse, Parallel 45, Traverse City Dance Project, National Writers Series of Traverse City;
  • Leelanau, $69,750:  Glen Arbor Arts Association, Leelanau Community Cultural Center, Great Lakes Children’s Museum, Northport Arts Association;
  • Manistee, $45,550: Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee; Ramsdell Regional Center for Arts.

Minigrant project awards include:

  • Archipelago Project for its music leadership academy (Grand Traverse)
  • Grand Traverse Pavilions for its summer Concerts on the Lawn series (Grand Traverse)
  • Harbor Springs Area Historical for Blessing of the Fleet programming & exhibition (Emmet)
  • Mash-up Rock & Roll Musical for new productions (Grand Traverse)
  • Missaukee District Library for elementary school arts programs (Missaukee)
  • Little Traverse Choral Society for the 2021-22 Season (Emmet)
  • Little Traverse Civic Theatre for the 2021-22 Season (Emmet)
  • Traverse Area Recreation & Transportation Trails for Art on the Tart (Grand Traverse)
  • Up North Arts for summer youth arts programming (Wexford)

Minigrants for professional and organizational development were awarded to:

  • Blissfest Music Organization (Emmet)
  • Good Hart Artist Residence (Emmet)
  • Great Lakes Children’s Museum (Leelanau)
  • Great Lakes Center for the Arts (Emmet)
  • Harbor Springs Historical (Emmet)
  • Up North Arts (Wexford)

A listing of all MCACA grant recipients (excluding minigrants) is available on the Michigan Council for the Arts and Cultural Affairs website at:

For questions about MCACA minigrants or the Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network, please contact Mary Bevans Gillett, Region 2 Regrant Coordinator and NW Michigan Arts & Culture Network Convener at 231-883-8388, arts@nwmiarts.net or visit www.nwmiarts.org.

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!