Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Ingrid Andrews
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kate Korroch
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

The Garden Theater: QuinTango

The Garden Theater in Frankfort hosted a performance by the Argentinian tango group QuinTango on 6/28/2022. This event was free to the public and received a crowd of roughly 150 patrons and 15 volunteers. The outcome was extremely positive. The Garden held this event in tandem with the Justice and Peace Advocacy Center serving homemade Mexican food for their organization and with dancing entertainment provided by the Traverse City Tango Club. The outcome was extremely positive.

The QuinTango performance provided a key benefit to the community: access to the arts and cultural perspective that is otherwise unavailable to northern Michigan, especially to small communities and rural counties such as Frankfort and Benzie County. The complexity of getting talent to the region is stemmed from the travel distance and expense. It is not often that there is an occasion to encounter diversified and qualified talent such as this. The partnership with Interlochen Public Radio and the grant funds awarded were essential in making this event the success that it was. Interlochen Public Radio was able to provide housing and radio promotion, while the grant funds took care of all the necessary payments that provide travel funds and decent wages for musicians of this caliber to come this particular distance to perform.

Bringing artists to the region with international perspective adds new levels of artistic and cultural understanding to our community. This provides for so much growth and an outlet to the world at large for residents. Being able to provide this experience at no cost to the participant is a substantial key to the success of the event and impact on the community. By eliminating the cost of the event, all members of the diverse socio-economic classes of Benzie County and beyond were able to attend.

QuinTango not only provided a sensational musical experience, but they included story telling, singing, cultural traditions, dance and more that gave the audience a well-rounded immersive artistic evening.

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!