Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Ingrid Andrews
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kate Korroch
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

Little Traverse Choral Society

Following a two-year hiatus in concerts due to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Little Traverse Choral Society (LTCS) began in-person rehearsals in September 2021 for holiday concerts scheduled for December 2021. The theme for this concert was “Together Again”, acknowledging the joy that members experienced in again being able to sing together. Featured in this concert was “A Ceremony of Carols” by Benjamin Britten. The concert program also included eight other holiday selections. The Britten work was accompanied by a professional harpist, and a flutist accompanied one of the other selections in the second half of the concert. Both of these musicians are from the northern Michigan area.

Then in January 2022, the LTCS members came together again to begin rehearsing for the spring 2022 concerts. The theme for this concert was “Celebrating Women in Music”. The program had originally been planned for concerts in May 2020 to celebrate the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage, which unfortunately were cancelled due to COVID-19. As we had purchased the music for this concert and had begun rehearsals, we thought it appropriate to plan our April 2022 concerts around this theme. The selections for the concert were all by women composers or reflected the role of women in music. The composers included Clara Schumann who lived and composed during the 19th century, as well as a number of contemporary women composers and several Michigan-based composers. Catherine McMichael, a composer currently living in Saginaw, Michigan, is the composer of “Stopping by Woods”, a lovely setting of the poem by Robert Frost, for which she added a violin part for use in our concert. The violinist and our piano accompanist also performed a duet composed by McMichael during the concert.

Both concerts were well-received by the audiences with significant compliments on the choice of music and the quality of the performance. Because of continuing COVID concerns and policies of the venues, we did not have our usual reception after each

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!