Amy Stein-Hansen
Ashlee Cowles
Carol Murray Jewelry
Cindy McSurely
Deborah Crandell
Diane Frederick
Elizabeth Calcutt
Greta Bolger
Heather Harris-Brady
Helen Grove
Holly Polich
Ian Jones
Ingrid Andrews
Jim Young
Joe Thatcher Thatcher
Judy Zorn
Julie Avery
Kate Korroch
Kristi Wodek
Laura Quackenbush
Laurie Sears
Leslie Donaldson
Linda Gits
Lora Frankel
Lisa Ventimiglio
Marcia Conlon
Mark Bowyer
Mary Dye
Megan Holtrey
Melanie Olsen
Melissa Johnson
Mercedes Michalowski
Molly Thompson
Helen Raica-Klotz
Raizel Coiman
Renee Hintz
Sharon Hubbard
Sharon Mick McAuley
Tamara Hoffbauer
Tami Maisel
Terry Beamsley
Tim Sparling Sparling
Ginny Hawkins
Walter J. Lee
William Lindemann
Yvonne Sage

NW MI Arts & Culture Network

NW MI Receives $917,219 in MACC FY23 Funding

47 Regional Arts & Cultural Organizations & Community Projects Benefit From Annual Awards

Michigan Council for Arts & Cultural Affairs awarded 44 FY23 grants totaling $917,219 to 34 organizations located in Northwest Michigan. Funding was approved at the September 16, 2022 Council meeting and included awards for operational support, project support, capital improvements, arts in education, new leaders and regional regrant for use October 1, 2022 – September 30, 2023. An additional 14 organizations will benefit from minigrants immediately, with additional minigrantees named in early 2023. Regional funding represents a 34% increase over FY2022.

MCACA provides grants to encourage, initiate and facilitate an enriched artistic, cultural and creative environment in Michigan. Funds are appropriated each year in the state budget. $12,445,413 in total FY23 funding was awarded throughout the state.

Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network is the regional partner and administers the MACC regrant program for Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Manistee, Missaukee and Wexford counties, also known as “Region 2.”  Regrant funds are used for minigrant projects and professional development. 14 organizations will share $32,500 in fall minigrants while an additional $17,300 will be awarded early next year.

Regional recipients of MACC grants by county include:

  • Antrim, $22,500: Crosshatch Center for Art & Design;
  • Benzie, $132,612:  Benzie Area Symphony Orchestra, Benzie Area Historical Society, Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts; Friends of the Garden Theater, Michigan Legacy Art Park;
  • Charlevoix, $73,250:  Beaver Island Cultural Arts Association, Beaver Island Historical Society, Charlevoix Circle of Arts, Raven Hill Discovery Center;
  • Emmet, $202,287: Bay View Music Festival, Blissfest Music Organization, Crooked Tree Arts Center, Good Hart Artist Residency, Great Lakes Center for the Arts, Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra, Harbor Springs Festival of the Book, Voices Without Borders;
  • Grand Traverse, $346,860:  Arts for All of Northern Michigan, City Opera House Heritage Association, Interlochen Center for the Arts, Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network, Northwest Michigan Ballet Theatre, Northwestern Michigan College/Dennos Museum Center, Old Town Playhouse, Parallel 45, Traverse City Dance Project, Traverse Symphony Orchestra, National Writers Series of Traverse City;
  • Leelanau, $61,500:  Glen Arbor Arts Association, Leelanau Community Cultural Center, Great Lakes Children’s Museum;
  • Manistee, $78,210: Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee; Ramsdell Regional Center for Arts.

Minigrant project awards include:

  • Archipelago Project for its summer music leadership academy (Grand Traverse)
  • Forest Area Public Schools for summer band camp (Grand Traverse)
  • Grand Traverse Pavilions for its summer Concerts on the Lawn series (Grand Traverse)
  • Justice Peace Advocacy Center for a mural at the Commongrounds (Grand Traverse)
  • Little Traverse Choral Society for choral concerts in 2022-23 (Emmet)
  • McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation for original art in McLaren public spaces  (Emmet)
  • Missaukee District Library for elementary school arts programs (Missaukee)
  • Music House Museum for fall educational programming with The Moxie Strings (Grand Traverse)

Minigrants for professional and organizational development were awarded to:

  • Beaver Island Historical Society (Charlevoix)
  • Blissfest Music Organization (Emmet)
  • Forest Area Community Schools (Grand Traverse)
  • Good Hart Artist Residence (Emmet)
  • Great Lakes Children’s Museum (Leelanau)
  • Old Town Playhouse (Grand Traverse)

A listing of all MACC grant recipients (excluding minigrants) is available on the Michigan Arts and Culture Council website at:

For questions about Region 2 minigrants or the Northwest Michigan Arts & Culture Network, please contact Mary Bevans Gillett, Region 2 Regrant Coordinator and NW Michigan Arts & Culture Network Convener/Director at 231-883-8388, arts@nwmiarts.net or visit www.nwmiarts.org.

# # #

PO Box 1859
Traverse City, MI

Our Members


Charlevoix Circle of Arts

Crosshatch Center for Art & Ecology

Dennos Museum Center

Elizabeth Lane Oliver Center for the Arts

Good Hart Artist Residency

Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra

Leelanau Historical Society

Michigan Legacy Art Park

National Writers Series


Traverse City Dance Project

Glen Arbor Arts Center

Grand Traverse Lighthouse Museum

Jordan River Arts Council

Mash-Up Rock & Roll Musical

City Opera House

Benzie Historical Society

Harbor Springs Festival of the Book

Downtown Development Authority

The Historic Vogue Theatre of Manistee

Northport Art Association

Voices Without Borders

Blissfest Music Organization

Raven and Lotus LLC

Traverse City Arts Commission

Crooked Tree Arts Center

Up North Arts

Cadillac Visitors Bureau

Parallel 45 Theatre Festival

Old Town Playhouse

Twisted Fish Gallery

Interlochen Center for the Arts

Traverse Symphony Orchestra

Rachael Harrell – Drama Kids

The Croft Residency

Drama Kids – Rachael Harrell

Michigan Museums Associations Scholarships & Conference


Gary Gatzke

Ian Jones

Jim Young

Kristi Wodek

Mark Bowyer

Mary Gillett

Megan Heator

Molly Thompson

Renee Hintz

Susan Wenzlick

Ted Alan

Greta Bolger

Edward Kocher

Nick Walsh

Heather Harris-Brady

Monica Stokes

Amanda Kik

Mercedes Michalowski

Sharon Hubbard

Leslie Donaldson

Elizabeth Calcutt

Maia Hausler

Becky Lancaster

Linda Dewey

Melissa Johnson

Daniel Stewart

Walter J. Lee

Michelle Bien

H. Eleanor Jones

Tom Kaufmann

Share This

Share this post with your friends!